The country has a republican form of government.

The government consists of three branches which are: the Legislative, the Executive and the Judiciary. The separations of the powers of these branches are as set out in the Constitution. Each branch exercises independently the exclusive powers accorded to it under the Constitution.

Sometimes referred to as “the Government”

The state has an Executive Branch, which is separate and independent of the legislative and the judicial branches. The Executive Branch (sometimes referred to as “the Government”), is headed by the elected President and consist of the President, The vice-President, and the Council of Ministers appointed by the President.

The power to legislate cannot be transferred to anyone outside the Parliament

The legislative powers of the Republic of Somaliland are vested exclusively in the Parliament which consists of two Houses – the House of Representatives and the House of the Elders. The power to legislate cannot be transferred to anyone outside the Parliament. All bills passed by the Parliament only come into force when the President publishes them in accordance with the Constitution. The Parliament fulfils its duties in accordance with the Constitution and its Rules.

The Judiciary consists of the courts and the Procuracy.

The judges and the members of the Procures are independent when exercising their judicial functions and are guided only by the law. The courts of the Republic of Somaliland consist of: the Supreme Court, the Appeal Courts of the Regions, the Regional Courts, the District Courts and the Courts of the National Armed Forces.

The Supreme Court is the highest organ of the Judiciary and is also at the same time the Constitutional Court. In addition to the Chairman, the number of judges in the court shall not be less than four. A special law shall govern the court. The Procures of the state consists of the Attorney General and his deputies.